Our Voices Have Power


With the shock and awe of the election, there are SO MANY things on the line now to fight for! Civil rights, women’s rights, LGBT equality, healthcare, veterans, NOT cataloging an entire group of human beings based solely on their religion, the possibility of a wall! It’s exhausting! We’ve all gotta fight the good fight every day of our lives from here on out and all issues are equally valid and important. Just to keep from going mad at all the things currently under attack in my country, I am going to funnel most of my energy to the issue I have been fighting for for so long I cannot even remember a time when it was not woven into the fabric of my being, the environment i.e. the ability to sustain life on this Earth.

Along with the water protectors at Standing Rock, I am in Solidarity with Juliana vs. United States and the young plaintiffs who are challenging this government to protect them from the impacts of climate change. Xiuhtezcatl Martinez is a 16 year old young man of Aztec descent who is a leading plaintiff in this case and he is a climate change activist, hip-hop artist and leader of Earth Guardians, a worldwide conservation organization. His courage is the kind I would like to model for myself and for my child.

Read More about the lawsuit HERE

Leave a Reply

