The Path of the Healer: an interview with Brooke Emily Southam


Belly Brooke
Brooke with Tiger Lily, 2010

I first met Brooke Emily Southam some years ago through belly dancing as part of the Ogden based troupe, Tiger Lily. Later, we spent time together in Deja Mitchell’s West African dance and drum classes and in the foundation of Weber State University’s student group Arts and Culture Through Movement and Music. However, it was not Brooke’s abilities as a dancer that fascinated me but her talent as a natural healer pulling from numerous traditions. When considering my next interviewee for The Rose, Brooke immediately came to mind and it has revealed even more complexities to her personality and abilities. This is my interview with Brooke Emily Southam…..

Britta: Why are you so drawn to Holistic healing?

BrookeBrooke: Magic! I like the idea of knowing what makes us function. How we heal, how we potentiate, how we connect to more than who we think we are. For me it’s a search of self-discovery. I am fascinated by what I don’t know.

When I was young I wanted to know all about psychology, why do we do this? Why do we do that? What do you say or do to someone in order to get them to respond a certain way? I analyzed behaviors from my childlike perspective thinking that if I had the keys of these answers that I would have power.

As I got older my focus became more about understanding myself. I wanted self-mastery with a strong passion. I took time exploring manifestation and creation. The question now became, “what do I have to do to myself to get the universe to respond to me in specific ways?” I actually got fairly good at manifesting lots of things. I could tell you about trips to Mexico, The Caribbean, and Alaska, even a trip to Ireland, money, jobs, and romantic encounters. What I found was that I could manifest a wide variety of things and experiences without having the means to financially to pull it off. But there is a catch. Your desires have to find a way to you through your beliefs about what is possible. So each time I manifested I would have many of my criteria manifest but much of what I desired had to be supplemented by something more believable to myself. The search for perfection continued.

Brooke4I find that holistic approaches to healing come closer to helping me realize my potential than any other field of study I’ve explored. I guess that is why I continue to comeback to it over and over again. Art, dance, and music are another form of true-self rising and I have to play there too.

Britta: Who are your great Influences?

Brooke: Well my Mother is who first taught me energy healing. She doesn’t know it, but she also uses NLP and Hypnosis quite a bit in what she does, especially on herself. This woman spends all day everyday listening and moving energy around. She is completely saturated in it. Her energy work knocks people out after they get on her table in just a few short minutes. Then once she completes the session for the day, which could take a few hours, the sleeper awakes promptly. It’s fun to see her magic in action.

William Wood was my hypno-therapist and mentor. Not only did I do a lot of healing under his care but I was directed to excellent training at NLPCA and HPTI.

Kristen Jamisen is my breath-work therapist with her I learned how simple healing can be through the use of breath and acceptance. After all the training I’d had I’d never met a person or technique that helped my process so quickly. I was stunned and truly grateful for my time with her. I have since combined her breathing and acceptance with cognitive therapy and EFT. Sometimes simple is best and sometimes you need a bit more.
Yoga/Yoga therapy as a healing path: Yoga has a very subtle sneak up on you sort of healing. The movement and breathing, the stretching and postures, the mantras and the challenges all have a way of chipping away at who you think you are. One day you find yourself crying in class not sure what happened or where the emotional release or sense of universal connection came from. No one said anything, no metaphorical mountains moved in your mind and yet you feel the shift from the yoga. Yoga as a healing path is kind and powerful. Yoga therapy comes with more direct assistance, body work, having someone else there to guide through the shifting. I’m always a fan of having loving assistance when taking steps toward growth.

Britta: Why massage therapy as a healing path?Brooke1

Brooke: Touch is a funny thing. We often don’t realize how much we long to be touched until someone gently puts their hands on us. The nurturing that comes from someone through massage therapy is a wealth all its own. You know, before we start walking we are held so very much, we are cuddled, kissed, cooed, and comforted. But when we are able to start walking it’s like we step into a world of touch isolation. We can get around ourselves now. No longer are we in our parents’ faces all the time. We now have to fight to be seen. The comfort that we knew now takes more effort to achieve. Eventually we learn to go without. We even forget how to ask to have that basic need met. Touch is a basic need, like water, like love. Massage therapy is around because touch is a basic human need. It is therapeutic because it refills that part of a person that needs to be valued enough to be touched. When you listen to a body it will actually tell you exactly how it wants to be touched. It’s incredible. If this communications exists between a body and a therapist then the therapy is usually profound for both parties. Massage as a therapy is one of the most beautiful, magical experiences, I’ve ever been a part of.

Brooke2

Britta: Why dance as a healing path?

Brooke: Expression in any form is a wonderful healing path. Finding a way to get your feelings out, seen, validated, acknowledged, and valued is huge to our healing. Music has the ability to control moods, to help you dive deeper. Applied to dance you can feel the emotion and have the outlet for acceptance and release of the emotion. Acceptance is a key to healing. Dancing is acceptance of yourself , and the world around you. Dancing is a wonderful healing path. As a teenager I had two forms of expression I relied on heavily as emotions were unacceptable in my family. Dance and visual arts were how I found my release. In the beginning I didn’t know much about dance so I would naturally sway to the music and bounce a bit to the beats. After a couple of belly dance classes I had some moves to work with and felt more confident about creating my own. When I would drive down the road and a song would come on the radio that I liked I would pull over my car, crank up the radio and get my dance on right there on the side of the road. I didn’t care that everyone could see me I had to move, I had to let the song take over. I’m grateful I had that outlet. That beginning, that love for movement, sent me on a lifetime of dance classes I’ve explored Hula, African, Modern, Ballet, Belly dance’s many styles, Hip Hop, Pole, Flamenco, Latin, Ballroom, Zumba and others. Every step was therapeutic for me. It helps that I love it.

Music therapy, sound therapy, music as art, music as passion. There are so many ways to utilize music for healing. All you have to do is hear it to know it. I’m a fan.

Britta: And what about hypnosis?

Brooke: Hypnosis, Neuro-linguistic Programming, Emotional Freedom technique, healing through changing your associations. I sought the help of a hypno-therapist when I had developed an eating disorder. A few sessions and my eating balanced, I discovered some interesting causes to the disorder, and I found out how powerful the mind is. Hypnosis as a healing path is powerful, fast, and to the point. After seeing the power of hypnosis to make quick change I had to learn it for myself. Now it’s one of my favorite tools both for my-self and my clients.

The NLP trainings I’ve been through have had the biggest impact on my psyche. The trainings were just as healing for me as the therapy was. I continue to seek out trainings and therapy as I know they both help me evolve.

Britta: Can you tell us more about the Goddess meetings you hold?Brooke3

Brooke: The goddess way of life came to me through Mama Gena’s books. She was speaking a language that my whole being longed for: total self- acceptance, fun, and beauty, encouragement to go for my dreams and use my natural abilities to get there. I loved the freedom, permission, and the perspective of power from pleasure. I love sharing this with other women. I love watching them take the fun and turn their lives in the direction of their desires. There is such a huge need for more of this everywhere. I am currently not teaching classes but coaching individuals. I do want to bring the Goddess Classes back to the community but I’m waiting for the demand before I organize more events.
My future leans toward more goddess practice and play, more self-discovery, and more education around fun healing tools. I have a long list of desires ahead of me. I keeping absorbing, enjoying, and letting it all go to get back to the source. Such is my process and I’m immensely grateful for it.

Thanks Britta for the opportunity to self-discover through this interview. I had no idea how much personal reflection I was in for when I agreed to this. It’s been eye opening, and at times challenging, but also fun. Thanks again. My love to you and yours.

Book List
For Goddess Guidance
Mama Gena’s School of Womanly Arts, Regena Thomashauer
Warrior Goddess Training, Heatherash Amara
Motherless Daughters, Hope Edelman
Personal Power through Awareness, Sanaya Roman
Beyond Common Thought, Jacqueline Snyder
Spirit Heals, Meredith Young-Sowers
The Power of Sexual Surrender, Marie Robinson
To Bed or Not to Bed, The Bodansky’s
Don’t Shoot the Dog, Karen Prior

For Emotional intelligence:
Your Survival Instinct is Killing You, Marc Schoen
The Secret Message of Shame, Patricia and Ronald Potter-Efron
Feeling Good, David Burns

For Enlightenment:
The Way of Wonder, Jack Haas
A New Earth, The Power of Now, Eckhart Tolle

For hypnosis healing and fun:
Heart of the Mind, Andreas
Core Transformation, Andreas
Mind Play, Mark Wiseman
The Courage to Love, Steven Gilligan
Solutions, Bandler and Cameron

Brooke’s website is brookesoutham.com and her email is brooke_southam@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

