Ellen Meloy


One of my favorite books of all time is The Anthropology of Turquoise by Ellen Meloy. Her writing is pure poetry and she is, like myself, “a creature of place.” This is an interesting archived interview I found of hers today on NPR. Thought I’d share:

‘The Anthropology of Turquoise’

From this interview, something Meloy said resonated genuinely with me. She said she felt a bone deep, fierce attachment to the landscape: “I sometimes can’t tell where my body stops and the desert begins. There’s more to this bond than a cosmic flakiness the experts say. The draw to certain kinds of landscapes is also biological. Neurologists suggest that a keen human sensitivity to color begins when we are infants. An aesthetic sense, an intuitive link, can then grow as strong as a fingerprint, defying logic, inviting the helpless surrender of a love affair. Intoxication with color may express itself as a profound attachment to landscape.” Turquoise has become my favorite color. It used to be purple, but as I have grown and changed, turquoise has become more quintessentially evocative to my conscience.

One thought on “Ellen Meloy

  1. I love this. You have no idea how much I love this. It explains an incredible amount about my life. It also reminds me of something my mom said when I was visiting her at the coast the other day: “I am not a creature of the ocean. I am a creature of the desert.” The idea of being, inescapably and crucially, a “creature” of somewhere, resonates with me very strongly.

Leave a Reply

