SLC Adventure


Well, as luck would have it, the yoga studio I was doing my RYT training with has closed. The owner said she is moving her studio to another location, but until that becomes a reality, my training is in a state of suspension.

Oddly enough, this feels very okay to me. I was becoming somewhat overwhelmed with all of the goings on in my life as of late with my own class at Eccles and trying to fit in my dance practice and get ready for a performance I will be doing with my dance guru, Deja Mitchell, with one of her African teachers from Senegal, Ibou N’gom, which I am so excited about! So the fact that the RYT training is on hiatus for the moment is really alright with me.

Missing my own husband is rather disturbing. It was time for something to go and I didn’t know what, but the Universe decided for me.

I went to SLC last night on a whim (so nice to have free time to have whims with) to the Samba Fogo studio at the Utah Arts Alliance to take a class from their visiting teacher, Rosangela Silvestre. Wow! One word: POWERFUL! She was teaching Brazilian Orixa “Spirit” dance. It was SO cool. I recognized some elements of African in it with a different twist. Everything was extremely directed and purposeful and she kept singing all these incantation songs and then every time we’d turn or go forward or make the machete chopping motion, she would have us all say, really loud, “Ha!” or “Ye-ow!” Kind of reminded me of martial arts in a weird way. Here is more information about Rosangela Silvestre: Silvestre Training

It was a cool experience ;0)

6 thoughts on “SLC Adventure

  1. certainly like your web-site however you have to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to tell
    the reality however I will definitely come back again.

  2. Great blog! Do you havee any hnts for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start mmy own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Anny recommendations? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

