To Dance or to Yoga? Why not Both ;0)


Dance or Yoga? Yoga or Dance? Why not both?

I’ve actually been playing with incorporating asanas in my own dancing for a few upcoming shows I said I would perform in. Going to tone down my usual, in your face energy, with something softer and more fluid, more devotional. I like what these ladies have done here. Not exactly what I had in mind for my own performance, but similar.

Saturday’s training was….interesting. There was lots that I liked and lots that I disliked about the Bountiful studio, nothing good or bad, just a taste thing. The content and training were most helpful. It was just the environment I had a hard time with. Was trying to figure out what exactly was bothering me about the studio in Bountiful, until I realized….it’s just that it’s Bountiful and I am Ogdenite, through and through. It just seemed a little too posh…too IKEA for me.

We wrapped up the Bhagavad Gita, which of course will always be a lifelong study for me. All of the comments, interpretations, connections were interesting to say the least. I am fully aware some of the students will be satisfied to leave the philosophy portion of our training at that, however, IF others in our program are still seeking a deeper understanding of the Bhagavad Gita, which I hope they are, I would suggest visiting the Hare Krishna Temples in either Spanish Fork or Salt Lake City to learn from Caru Das what he has studied and learned throughout his life from the brahmacharyas of Disciplic Succession from his guru to Srila Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada all the way back to Sri Krishna himself for a fuller understanding of this vast well of Vedic Wisdom. Or you can hear Caru’s Sunday talks on iTunes now, Krishna Temple Sunday Talks, for free. Technology is so very interesting ;0) I’m more comfortable with the philosophy portion of our training. I’ve been studying comparative literature, mythology, religions and philosophy for some time now, but even so, I am but a novice to it all.

As far as help and discipline with the asanas goes, I am gaining SO MUCH help and information and coaching which is exactly what I need. I have SO MUCH to learn yet. Obviously, it is a lifelong practice for all yogi/inis. Very humbled to be training with such knowledgeable teachers ;0)

Next month, we study the nervous system. The anatomy portion of our training, etc. has created a froggy in my throat. But it’s exciting. I like learning brand new things. I remember by the end of my Bachelor’s degree feeling really bored because we were just re-hashing the same materials over and over again. It’s refreshing to be a bobble-headed, newbie student again.

~ Namaste ~

Leave a Reply

