Me News


Okay, so I have good news.

One, is that in a bizarre accidental stumbling (like most of the things in my life) I came across this magazine called fuse: A tribal and tribal fusion belly dance magazine, and I thought to myself, “Wow! I’d really love to read that.” As I looked into it a little more, I discovered this is a fledgling magazine on the eve of it’s birth. On a whim, I posted something on their Facebook Wall about how I have a degree in English – Creative Writing emphasis, experience in Journalism, graphic design, etc. and then thought nothing more about it. I was like, “Yeah, like I will hear from them.” But, I thought I should try anyway. If you don’t attempt things, you never get anything. BUT, I did hear back from the editor and she DID ask me to write for her! WOW! Finally a use for this degree that everyone and their dog tells me over and over again is “useless” and have fun “cashing in my chips in the food service industry.”

I have one article coming out in the first issue and am working on another already. I started research for the topic of my next article by talking to many people in the Utah belly dance scene and I’ve received fascinating stories and coincidences. I won’t say much more about this because it is going to go in my article, but it is very intriguing and thought provoking thus far. At least to those of us who are belly-addicts ;0)

Second, I got a belly dance show in Ogden in the works for October the 23rd, probably around 6 pm. Still working out the details, but the venue is secured (Borrowed Earth Emporium) and there are many dancers interested in performing. This was another one of those things that I was like, “This isn’t going to happen, but I should try anyway,” so I just sent out some information to people who know people in Ogden and within a few days, several business owners and others were like, “We’d love to host a belly dance show for you!” WOW! Is there no end to the possibilities in the world?

So, those are two great things. Going to start African again which is great. The Tiger Lilies are going to perform at Harvest Moon on September 25th and I’m going to the Om Shanti Retreat at the Sri Sri Radha Krsna Temple in Spanish Fork in early October.

There are some things (of course) that are not phenomenal right now, but that is to be expected. I think it’s sort of a balance thing with the Universe, but hopefully with time the equilibrium will even out…..I hope.

Anyhoo, those are just some things, good things and I like sharing good things. There is not enough Good News put out into the world, I think. I get depressed watching the evening news at night, so I just stopped doing it. I want to try to focus on good things, send positive energy into the world. So I only want to talk about that right now and not the less than stellar things.

Tell me something good that’s going on in your life. Even in your darkest hour, there is always something good to talk about ;0)

Love is….

B

One thought on “Me News

Leave a Reply

