Article by a Sister Dancer


Belly dance is more than dance. It’s women’s magic.
By Satya

Who am I to write about women’s magic? I don’t fully understand it and don’t claim to, and yet through the process of teaching belly dance to countless women over the past seven years, I’ve begun to see the potential.

Breaking patterns that we create through our everyday movement or lack of movement is difficult. It can be uncomfortable, painful, and even threatening. We stand, sit, walk and eat. We talk on the phone and type on the computer. All with a very limited range of motion. It’s easy to forget sometimes that our bodies are capable of doing more than what we do each day. And yet, when we are able to move beyond our normal routine and push our bodies to find our true limits, it is amazing how good it feels!

That’s where the practice of belly dance comes in. From the first breaths of warm up, to the undulating spine, circling hips, and staccato shimmies, it breaks the patterns of our normal daily movement. It may be surprising to hear that through a practice of movement isolations in dance, pathways can be opened in the body. The effects of this dance form are far reaching, and may not be fully understood.

There is more than just a physical reaction, these moves open channels that may be blocked, and release stagnant energies simply through doing them. The chakras can open. Body image can shift. Attitude can change.

Really? All through dancing? Yes! Belly dance is magic and medicine with tangible, positive effects on the body and mind. It is no wonder that it is such a draw for women who are on the edge of conscious change and alternative living. Spiritual seekers of many varieties come to belly dance, maybe not even knowing why. Women looking to change their lives, change their attitudes, change their bodies end up in classes. They form tribes all over the world through movement, and connect with each other on the dance floor. It is powerful and beautiful.

The effects can be incredible. Give it a try to see for yourself. There is magic and medicine in this dance that is needed right now more than ever. What are you waiting for? Join the tribe if you dare!

Satya is the director of Bella Rouge Dance Company, with weekly ongoing classes at Dance Works Studio. More information can be found at http://www.bellarougetribal.com

Published in the Spot Magazine, April, 2010

2 thoughts on “Article by a Sister Dancer

  1. I dance alone too. A lot. In fact, I danced alone for years before I met Deja and started dancing with a group. I think they both have their benefits. When I was young, I was put in dance classes like ballet and tap and I hated it. I hated it because I had to imitate, I couldn't just move the way my body wanted to move, so when I was in my teens I dropped out. It didn't help either that the ideal dancer's body was supposed to be petite and thin. Not being able to achieve that shape sent me into a lot of body issues which resulted in an eating disorder that took me several years to overcome, but I always liked to dance alone. I used to twirl around for hours as a kid. When I was about eighteen, I discovered dance in the clubs and I loved it. I loved losing myself in the abandon of it, and feeling that primal rhythm with every one else and getting their sweat all over me. But it was all chaos. My own movements at home were more fluid. It wasn't until I met a group of adult females interested in movement as a sacred space that I was able to marry both the chaotic abandon of melding the mind and the body and the fluid grace of rehearsed poses. It is incredibly powerful. I've watched women break down and cry in these classes because they are so emotionally and spiritually affected. It's beautiful and far more healing than any psychiatrist. We all just need to wed our minds and our bodies to each other again and stop existing in trizophrenia. Society programs us to be numb and bored, but we can reclaim ourselves by tapping into our own joy again ;0)

Leave a Reply

