Things to be Thankful For


I wanted to put these thoughts down for the season and because they are true…

 

I am thankful. I am thankful this year for so many things. I am thankful for waking up this morning, for the home I live in, for the body I inhabit, for eyes to see the sun rise and ears to hear music. For the legs I use to get around, and the fingers I use to type. I am thankful for my job, my school, my community. I am thankful for my friends, all of my wonderful friends who have been with me now and in the past, those come and those gone who have shared in the joy and the pain of living, together. For inspiration in all of its forms. For my teachers and mentors from all walks of life. For my kindred spirits and sisters in dance.

I am thankful for my family, all of my family – my cousins, aunts and uncles, grandparents and parents. For my father who taught me reverence for Nature and how to chase dreams. For my step-father who taught me responsibility, loyalty and self-respect.
For my mother who gave me life and love and who grew up with me. For my brothers, those beautiful souls who have shared their childhood with me and who continue to amaze me every day of their lives, my pals.

But most especially, I am thankful for my husband, who gave me not just a second but a third chance at happiness. For being my mirror, my friend and my lover. For giving me support and sanity when I needed it most. For teaching me patience and charity and wisdom. For being a partner in trials and happiness, my ally in all my efforts. My confidante, my playmate, my critic and my fan, my inspiration and my heart’s delight. And for seeing talent in me, long before I ever saw it in myself. Thank you.

I am very lucky to be with him.
We are lucky to be with each other.

There are a lot of times I take what I have for granted, times when I look at the Universe and ask, “What’s in it for me?” Or when I forget to see the good and see only the bad. But I have been so blessed as of late as to be overwhelmed by the many gifts which have been bestowed on me and I feel in awe of it all.

I truly wish to give thanks for the beautiful life I have. I know things can change moment to moment, and what once was can be no more in an instant, so I hope I can appreciate the grace of my life now, while it lasts, to the fullest.

I Give Thanks to the Universe.
Love + Light

Britta, 2009

Leave a Reply

